How hard can being a SAHM mom be?

And why anyone would question how much work being a SAHM is is completely beyond me.  I may work now, but deep down in the core of who I am, I am a SAHM.  I stayed at home with my kids until they went to school full time, and unless we needed the income in a bad bad way, I would never choose to be away from my kids when they are home still now.  When they come home from school, I am home.  It is one of my very strong convictions.  It was as I was plowing through college, I knew I would be home with my kids.  Without a doubt. It’s the way I was made.

I do not judge those women who choose to work outside of the home either.  Judging is not my job. 

This advice column is an interesting look at the issue.  I enjoyed the read, because I can understand both sides.  I really enjoyed reading all the comments that followed on Facebook when it was linked to on Coping with Frugality.  Go digging.  Why are people so rude to each other?  God made us all differently – some of us find the work in the home to be our calling, others don’t.  Thank God for the women who work outside the home as well: nurses, teachers – you know, those stereotypical “women” jobs. 

And how hard can being a SAHM be?  The hardest thing I will EVER do, and I mean EVER.  As long as I live EVER!!!  I am still recuperating. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Schmalenberger
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 08:03:38

    It too have been a SAHM and planned on working a more traditional job once my kids got to school. I have now found that when kids hit their teen years, they need you more than they ever did in their lives. This surprised me and I was not prepared for it. Whether you work or not, spend quality time listening to your kids…..it goes by way too fast!

    Reply

  2. Crystal Maus
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 09:46:04

    I am loving your blog. Keep writing, Deb. You amuse me everyday 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

