Dear Grocery Stores,

I understand when you run your sales Sun – Sat, and I decide to shop Saturday evening, you might be out of EVERYTHING on my list that I had coupons for.  I might leave a bit miffed, but some of that miffism will be aimed at myself for waiting so long to hit the good sales.  HOWEVER, to a certain store that runs it sales from Wednesday – Tuesday: I shopped Thursday evening, I expect you to stock your items to last longer than 48 hours.  Disappointed.  In.  You.  Be ashamed.  Now I have to send Bill.  Geez, I was just trying to be responsible.

I am just now getting to the point that I can blog about my newest flaw.  Someone somewhere decided to pass onto me the virus that causes cold sores.  Bing it.  The info is not pretty.  Not one of the Pieper clan gets them besides me now – Who knows where I got picked up the lovely virus.  I work in a cesspool.  I go to Wal-mart.  I kiss all kinds of strangers.  According to Mayo.com, fever, menstruation, stress, fatigue and exposure to the sun may trigger a recurrence.  Great, like menstruation doesn’t have enough crap that comes along with it.  Stress, fatigue?  I live there.  Exposure to the sun???  I guess I cant go outside anymore.  Life as I know it is over.

We just found out today that someone we know named their daughter Curly – they liked her name and the way we spelled it, and then stole it.  Awesome!!  Wonder if she touches purple.  Wonder if she sleeps in boxes.  Wonder if she wears pants with zippers or shoes with inflexible tongues.  Wonder if she has already typed out her Christmas list and e-mailed it around in September?

Since I am in the mood to tell my secrets, I stopped at DQ after grocery shopping and bought a chicken strip basket.  I ate the whole thing.  Dipped in ranch.  And I enjoyed every bite.  I also wanted a coke, but I passed on that one since I am eating healthy these days.  I should be ashamed, but I am not. 

79 Days until Christmas 2010, your gifts should be purchased and wrapped by this weekend.

3366 Days until Christmas 2019, start planning now.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 22:12:16

    1. I HATE that grocery stores never have my good deals when I go there. I went to Cashwise 3 different days last week trying to get packs of corn on that awesome deal, and they never had what I needed.

    2. I LOVE chicken strip baskets from the DQ dipped in ranch. Yum! Now I really want one.

    3. I almost bought a Christmas present today. I’m determined to be done shopping by Black Friday. We’re going on vacation from Dec 16th-24th, so I need everything done before then for sure.

    Reply

  2. Larisa
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 22:18:12

    LJ has prescription stuff that nips cold sores in the butt fast. He’s the only one that gets them at our house. We think he got them from my parents since they both get cold sores and you know how grandparent’s can’t resist kissing their cute grandkids. 🙂

    Good job not having a pop with your chicken strips…just an fyi, the lemonade at DQ doesn’t taste very good, I’d stick w/water.

    Reply

  3. Rebecca
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 22:26:32

    Next time you eat the chicken basket, indulge in the gravy. I’m not typically one of “those” Midwesterners who is into gravy, but the stuff at DQ is unimaginably good.

    For your cold sore, take the supplement Lysene daily – totally does the trick to keep them at bay for Dan.

    Reply

  4. Chrissy
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 22:50:55

    I seriously just felt a bit of anxiety about your last comment about Christmas presents. I’ve only got 2 or 3 stashed away, and that made me a little nervous!

    Reply

  5. Roni
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 10:51:47

    Hey, some people need protein/fat diets. Claim it for a day.

    Reply

  6. Carlie
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 10:59:28

    As a former employee of “The Dairy Queen”, I feel it’s only fair to point out that the gravy at DQ shouldn’t really be called gravy. It is, at best, a powder based gravy flavored sludge. I’m sorry. I really am. I hate to burst a bubble like that, but it hurts my heart when I hear of innocent diners ordering “gravy”. My mom loved it, and I’m not going to point any fingers, but, look what happened to her… Just saying. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

