Stupid Hose Sock

A long long time ago in Pieper Wonderland, I had a vacuum that sucked.  I simply plugged it into the power outlet and pushed around the power head causing my carpets to be free of dog hair and the sandbox my kids dragged back into the house to be gone.  We have central vac so about a year ago when the bad vacuum breaking monster appeared in Pieper Wonderland, the result was devastating.  (Some of you will be surprised to know I love the look of fresh vacuum lines.)  Calls went out to the Team Electronics fairies who declared that yep, our system was broken.  Did they fix it?  Nope.  Just confirmed our suspicions.  (DUH!)  It has taken Sir William a very long time to give a rip about Lady Deb’s broken vacuum because up until a couple weeks ago, Lady Deb could trick the motor into running just by letting it give her hand a hose hickey.  Who knows.  Magic.  But then, the connections between the hose and the power head began to smell burnt and Sir William decided maybe the broken vacuum was no longer safe enough for his cleaning lady, I mean Lady Deb.

Today, by way of horse drawn UPS truck, a parcel arrived at the draw bridge of Wonderland.  “Hark,” said Lady Deb, “Could this be?”  The day she had been praying for for over a year had arrived.  NEW VACUUM PIECES!!  The excitement overtook Wonderland and as soon as William arrived from his day job, the new vacuum was assembled.  One part that was listed as ordered was missing, the hose sock.  The stupid hose sock mystery will be reason for a friendly-worded note to the website the order was placed on.  We cannot, I repeat CANNOT have a hose without it’s sock.  Winter is coming!

20101006_174209_5175      The new head – see the glimmer of newness??

  20101006_174244_5177  Sir William’s excited about the pole extender – my family has a thing for extenders of all kinds. 

  20101006_174309_5178  This hose needs its sock

    20101006_174557_5179  But happy endings after all, sir William decided to vacuum for quite a lengthy time.  Hope this new excitement doesn’t wear off all weekend.

___________________________________________________________________________

Curly gets her retainer tomorrow morning – gone will be the pink glow-in-the-dark expander.  YAHOOO!!!  Make way for those braces.  Anyways, Bill is taking her in for this appointment, so I asked him that if given a choice between a semi-permanent retainer and one she can take in and out, please pick the removable one.  (Remember, Curly is our sensory girl, she wont eat with it in.)  I commended Curly on being so responsible on always knowing where her expander has been and she told me her trick.  “If I don’t know where it is, it is easy to locate.  I just sniff and wherever the bad bad smell is, I know that is where the expanders are.”   YUCK!!!  Can I repeat how happy I am that we are done with those things???? 

_____________________________________________________________________________

My to-do list today:  (not too bad, always room for improvement)

  1. Make Lasagna    20101006_175511_5182  20101006_175228_5181
  2. Take kids to church
  3. Walk 3 miles or more
  4. Do 40 Sit-ups – I will get to this one still
  5. Pick up dress
  6. mop floors
  7. Grocery shop
  8. Wash bedding
  9. Vacuum
  10. Dust
  11. Bonus points:  Wash windows and mirrors, make grocery list, eat blizzard with Bill
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missi
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 22:11:39

    Did you make the lasagna in the crock pot? I am going to make it Sunday.
    (PS- I saw the “eat blizzard with Bill”. You didn’t fool me!)

    Reply

    • debpieper
      Oct 07, 2010 @ 06:44:14

      Honestly, he ate about 3/4 of it…and I put in 4.5 miles yesterday, so the few bites i ate wont show up anywhere. Besides, it was raspberry truffle, so it was a serving of fruit.
      Lasagna – in oven, but I am gonna try the crock pot variety – I forgot about that option.

      Reply

  2. Larisa
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 23:10:05

    After your busy day, I think the blizzard w/Bill was much deserved!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

