Let’s talk Oatmeal! And one cheater recipe…

So I am not a big breakfast in the morning fan.  First of all, I am not a morning person to begin with so to expect me to actually stand up and put any amount of effort into making something good is absolutely asking way too much.  It is a good effort on my behalf just to eat breakfast.  Second, I like to start my day with sugar.  My ideal breakfast is something like a big bowl of Cinnamon Toast Crunch.  This makes my taste buds sing.  I have had to totally retrain myself to eat the current daily breakfast of a bowl of unflavored oatmeal, cut up bananas and flax seed sprinkled in and two egg whites.  Yawn.  But man, once 10 AM rolls around, I can go for sweet rolls, egg bake, egg-in-a-frame (AKA outhouses, frog in a hole, and many other wonderful things) or a big ham and cheese omelet with a side of pancakes smothered in syrup and a huge glass of chocolate milk.  YUM!!

Check out this Tribute to Oatmeal.  It just might get us thinking about oatmeal in a whole new way (or two!) Especially want to try this one!!!  HOLY MOLY – that doesn’t look as healthy but wowsers. 

DSC07114  Picture from Katheats.com

 

So here is a little gem for ya.  This recipe came from Janelle K. one of the best, if not the best Tastefully Simple lady in the world.  It doesn’t fit my dieting plan but it might be worth the cheat, you know, do it for the kids.

Creamy Caramel Pull Aparts

24 frozen dinner rolls, thawed but still cold (I used Rhodes Dinner Rolls)

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup Creamy Caramel Sauce  (Obviously TS product)

Cut rolls in half.  In a bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon.  Dip roll halves in butter and then in sugar mixture.  Place in a sprayed Bundt pan.  Sprinkle with any remaining sugar mixture over rolls.  Drizzle Creamy Caramel Sauce over rolls.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rise until 1-inch below the top of the pan.  Remove wrap and bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes.  Cover with foil the last 10 minutes if necessary to prevent over browning.  Remove from oven and invert onto a serving platter.

Ummmm, yeah, I could eat the whole pan no problem. 

I love junk food.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debpieper
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 21:25:15

    http://firstlookthencook.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/pop-tarts/

    Check this out, homemade pop-tarts!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Janelle Krump
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 08:48:18

    You are so sweet. I am happy to report that most of them went to the sugar beet field with my husband. A treat for starting work at midnight! (I did make him leave a sample at home for Ben and I.) Word got out and I have to make another batch for the men at the elevator. I don’t have a problem with that since these are so simple!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

