Love fest with my crock pot

(First, a quick wrap of last week’s menu:  Adobo-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin was a huge hit!!  (I grilled the meat since it was so nice out!  and grilled hotdogs for the picky eaters.)  Baked Brown Rice was really good – will do that more often!  Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna was something most members of our family voted thumbs down emphatically – but James and I loved it and I will make it again sometime for lunches.)

I love having dinner ready for me when I get home from work because generally at that time of the day, I am exhausted!!  Like drop dead tired.  Like put in a Mt Dew IV drip and let me stare into space without interruption.  (For those of you who are concerned about my Mt. Dew fetish, I have not had one since May.)  I am generally famished as well.  Not as famished as the kids in those sponsorship commercials, but as famished as a girl who hasn’t eaten since 12:30 can be.  Three hours of no food when eating clean is like a forever fast. 

I was reading along on a friend’s blog and noticed this link to crock pot heaven.  (Thanks, unnamed friend!!) Want to throw some ingredients together when you have enough energy to move the crock pot from your pantry to your counter, flip the switch and then come home to something wonderful?  Me too – let’s work our way through the list together. 

This weekend, I am making (or preparing to make) a couple of them:

Brown Sugar Chicken

Tortilla Soup

Click here For Pork Recipes:

I am going to make this pork dinner using ribs, it looks awesome:

Pork Chops with Scalloped Potatoes
3 Tbs. butter or margarine
3 Tbs. all purpose flour
1 ½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pepper
1 can (14 ½ oz) chicken broth
6 rib or loin pork chops ( ¾ inch thick)
2 Tbs. cooking oil
6 cups thinly sliced, peeled potatoes (about 4 lb.)
1 medium onion, sliced
In a greased crock pot (or a greased 13 in by 9 in by 2 in baking dish), layer potatoes and onion.
In a skillet, brown pork chops in oil. Season to taste with additional salt and pepper if desired. Remove pork chops from pan and set aside.
Melt butter in skillet. Stir in flour, salt and pepper. Add broth and cook, stirring constantly, until mixture boils. Cook for 1 minute. Pour the broth mixture over potatoes and onions. Place pork chops on top. Cover and bake in crock pot all day on low (or in 350 degrees for one hour, covered, and an additional 30 minutes longer or until potatoes are tender, uncovered.)
Yield : 6 servings, Serving Suggestions – steamed vegetables and homemade rolls

I also plan to make lasagna this week.  It is Karalyn’s favorite and I know I will have left overs for the boys for the weekend when us ladies hit girls weekend at the farm AKA wedding dress shopping!!!!  WHOOHOO!)

It is also time to make more banana muffins (maybe regular size this time for quickness)lemon poppy seed muffins and butter brickle muffins (recipe below.)  This house is gonna smell yummy!!

Butter Brickle Muffins (adapted from Carol’s BB bread – yummmmmmmmmmmm!!)

1 pkg butter pecan or french vanilla cake mix

1/2 C oil

1 C water

4 eggs

Butterscotch instant pudding or French Vanilla instant pudding

1/2 pkg heath bits of butter brickle toffee chips

– Mix and bake at 350 – not sure how long as this is the first time making it into muffins.  For the cake, bake in 2 9X5’s for 45 minutes.

Let me know if you have any favorite crock pot recipes to share.  And enjoy this wonderful week of awesome weather!!!  These warm days are numbered.  I wonder each time I wash my capris if it is the last…boooohoooo.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: SUNDAY…Sunday Sunday Sunday « Our Piep Show
  2. Missi
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 20:49:52

    I made the pork chops w/ scalloped potatoes yesterday… not too bad! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

