Weekend prep for weeklong eating…

Well, another weekend is here which means more cooking ahead.  This weekend, I am going to focus on healthy foods, as all the junk I made last weekend made it very difficult to eat well throughout the week.  All the goodies are gone now and I am planning to cook rather than bake.  These are some of the things I plan to make:

Monday

Adobo-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin   I have never made this, but it looks really good and I am going to try it.  I will tell Alli it is chicken.  Actually, I will probably make it out of chicken since I have some and pork is not on sale anywhere.

image

Tuesday

Grilled Beef and Broccoli over Baked Brown Rice

I will marinade the beef on Sunday (so it will sit in the marinade two days), grill it, slice it thin and combine with steamed broccoli and serve over brown rice.

Baked Brown Rice   I always have brown rice cooked and on hand, but this recipe might change it up a little.  (Scroll down on the link for directions about how to make baked brown rice.) 

Wednesday

Oatmeal Pancakes (recipe from my buddy Angela who if she was not a doctor, should have been a chef.)  These are great with fresh fruit on them.

2 C oatmeal
2 C WW flour
2 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt
4 tsp sugar
4 eggs
4 C buttermilk
1/2 C veg oil

Thursday

Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna  I have never made this either, but it looks promising. 

Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style Recipe

Friday

Generally, Friday is instant foods night around here.  Left overs, grill hot dogs for the kids, that kind of thing.  I have tried to plan cool dinners, but nah…I never actually do it, so why pretend?

Just Because:

Turkey and Rice Soup 

This is a non-measured, throw-in-as-much-of-each-thing as you like recipe.  Shred turkey (already done because I baked a turkey last week, shred and froze most of it.)  Throw some in a large crockpot along with chopped celery, carrots, and onions.  Add chicken broth – quite a bit as the rice sucks up so much of the liquid.  Season to your taste.  I use seasoning salt, pepper, and garlic.  Add uncooked brown rice – remember that it grows as it cooks, so don’t put in too much!!  Crock on low all day while you are at work or on high for an afternoon.

Granola  I need to make Granola again.  I put it in yogurt every morning with fresh fruit.  Yummy snack!

And, I found a blog that I really like.  Check out her recipe section – it is full of interesting things (as is the entire blog!!)  Life Blessons

Happy Cooking!!!  Now onto the bigger more exciting plans for the day…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: O Christmas Tree, O Christmas Tree « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

