Whiny Wednesday and then a few jokes –Scattered just like my mind

Who is doing the whining?  My feet!!  My back! And because of that, my head!  After a summer of flip flops, I donned my new heels and headed off for a day of work.  Bad idea.  I don’t know how to transition from flip-flops to grown-up shoes without just diving in, so I dove and I am paying for it.  However, the sweater I got was a big hit…I loved it!  I should shop at the hoochie wanna-be places more often…I look alright dressed in their gear.  I guess that says a lot about me.

20100915_074536_4598

It was a huge day for one little lady in our home.   Most of you know that she has been blessed with sensory system that is on high alert at all times.  The more she can spin and hang upside down, the better.  Specific tastes and smells set her off.  The way everything feels is vital to her given mood at any moment.  This has been since day one.  When I was wheeled into the NICU, I was told not to touch her, she was on overload already.   I guess that is what happens when you are 3 lbs 9 oz and they vent ya and stick tubes all over your tiny tiny body.  If you are a mom of one of these tactilely-gifted children, you will understand that it is with great joy that I announce that Curly wore jeans to school today!!!  Seriously, I could cry – she is working so hard at being “normal” (secretly, I hope she never gets too normal, because that girl is a riot!!)  Note the look of dismay as she tries to smile for the picture.   She made it all day!!  But, like her mom, she has slipped into something more on the lines of sweats and baggy t-shirts now that she is home.

2000-04-07_2043_029 Talk to the hand – Sassy from the start

  20100915_074433_4597          Take a close look at the floor in this pic…Since I just mopped last night, I just needed to point out the shiny happy floor.  It is one of my personal convictions, remember.

Tonight is what Bill and I refer to as date night.  We drop the kids off at church, and we go out for dinner.  Although last week, we decided to forgo dinner and instead walked 5 miles, and this week was a shorter walk and then sharing DQ.    It is marriage ministry at its finest.  More parents should hop on our date night bandwagon.   Texas Roadhouse, are you calling our name for next week?  Ok, so on our way to dropping the kids off at church we saw the most awesome thing.  It went like this:

Me, “Hey Curly, check out that dog!”  (It was a very large yellow lab or something like that but even bigger, and Curly does love her doggies.)

Curly, “Where?”

Me, “Over there, on the boulevard! Oh wait, what the heck is it doing?”  (I notice it is taking a dump, and now all my kids are looking for a dog taking a crap.)

AND THEN:  We all notice the owner bent over behind the dog with a wal-mart bag.  We are wrong at this point in our assumption that the owner is picking up the dog crap.  Oh no!  The owner, a lady, is catching the dog’s crap in the bag as it happens!!  And our entire family got to watch – what a bonding moment…we laughed, we were amazed, and we were slightly disgusted.  Who trains their dogs to crap in bags????  Who does that???  At the same time, we are jealous.  I guess we go behind our dog and do the same thing, only the bag we pick up our dog’s poop with is attached to our lawn mower.

Crazy Man came home with this great joke today:  What did the fish say when he was swimming down a creek and hit a brick wall?             “Dam!”    The “who” in “who taught you that?”  is the funniest part of the joke… teacher!!  🙂   Here is another:  Knock Knock, Who’s there?  Pile Up.  Pile up Who?  Say it quickly…you’ll get it.  Same source.  I love my kids’ teachers!!  Seriously, this is the stuff that makes life life.  They are studying for a social test and I guess one of the brain tricks is making a muscle and the “physical maps” vocab word is linked to mountains (supposedly 5th graders have big pipes.)  So Crazy Man wanted me to show you all his ripped physique.  Someone feed this kid some junk food, he needs some meat on those bones!!!

  20100915_203817_4602 Honestly, he doesn’t know I am posting this, he probably will be embarrassed.

So on that note, I will close with my new and super goofball Curly’s sign off she graced us with tonight:  “Boom!  Pow!!  Boom Boom Pow!!  Curly Rocks.  Good Night, Mom and Dad.”  It has moves. 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 21:07:49

    This post is awesome on so many levels! Thanks for letting us in on life at the Pieper’s house. Tell Andy “nice pipes”! 😉

    Reply

  2. Missi
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 21:17:25

    Hurray for Karalyn! That is huge!

    The sweater is awesome. Absolutely stunning. And you should feel so cool, because you bought that at my 14 year old niece’s favorite store! You are hip. Bust a move…

    Reply

  3. Janell
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 21:44:39

    I’m choking back tears!

    Reply

  4. Missi
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 22:04:15

    And… I can’t tell from the picture… but did your earrings match your necklace?!!! 🙂

    Reply

  5. debpieper
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 19:08:44

    Earrings matching my necklace – hahahahaha, that is the funniest thing ever. I was told today that I look like a 12 year old when I wear my contacts 🙂 I was aiming for 18, but I will take 12, at this age, 12 is a compliment!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

