The woes of being a mom on Tuesdays

So Tuesdays are going to be our big struggle this year.  Princess goes to ballet from 4:00 – 5:15, Curly has Techgirlz from 4:00 – 6:00, I have to pick up JP at 5:30, and we also pick up our spare kiddo around 4:45.  This means I drop Princess off early, drop Curly off, pick up spare, pick up Princess, pick up JP and then pick up Curly.  Bill is home getting ready for scouts because at 6:30, Bill and Crazy Man have scouts.  I am so proud of myself for staying on top of this and not losing a kid like I did last year, but I still have time, the year is young and I have not reached that level of stinkin’ wigged-out exhaustion yet.  Starting next week, I have declared Tuesdays “Little Caesars” day at our home.  

While driving around today, Princess showed she is growing up when she begged to ride shotgun.  “Nope,” I told her, “it isn’t safe and technically, you should still be in a booster.  Shoot, JP would have been in a booster through 6th grade if 80 pounds was the law rather than the suggestion.”  Or is it the law?  Oh I am so confused.  I like to think that if 80 lbs is the law, a cop would have to make me step on a scale to prove I weigh enough to drive without a booster myself, but I doubt that is even close to any sort of reality.  At this point in a Tuesday, I am not even sure what is reality anymore.  So after all this, JP announces that he is making an edible cell in biology tomorrow (great story on my own cell memories in the next paragraph) and he needs a very specific list of grocery items.  Really?  He needs a big cookie.  So guess who is baking cookies?  Giant cookies break easily.  Does anyone have a grape?  He needs one grape for his nucleus and I just threw our old ones out.  How about M&M’s mom – do you have any of those? Like if I did I would tell you where I hide them!?!?!?  Do you have anything I can use for ribosomes?  Can you boil me some spaghetti noodles?  I love being a 7th grade student – I better get a good grade on my cell.

My days of making cells in biology:  Most of us in 10th grade made the expected jell-o based cell, decorated cake cell, those kinds of things, but not Jev.  Jev said he was making one on a tampon.  “Hmmmm, that should be interesting,” we all thought.  He showed up with a bunch of cytoplasm and endoplasmic reticulum glued to a maxi pad.  And he kept calling it a tampon.  Oh, the laughs, a 10th grade boy calling a pad a tampon!!!  He is also the guy who came to graduation naked under his gown, or so he claims, because none of us were about to check.  Let’s just say that when he played a song on his guitar, he purposefully sat in a way that sure made it look like he had nothing on…oh Jev, I wonder what you are up to these days.

Back on topic…

So today, I decided to squeeze a little grocery run into the after-school taxi ride.  Right there at Cash Wise, I found a great deal on oatmeal.  5 for $7.  YEAH!!  Add this coupon for $1 off instant for better pricing if you eat that fake oatmeal – as for me and myself, I eat the real stuff in the can.  I eat a lot of oatmeal these days.  Sure sign of aging.  Trying to prevent another “Deb as a Rotisserie Chicken Day” – you know, scoped from both ends at once?  Anywho, for a quick wrap of what is on sale in the FM area, visit FM Cheapskate.  Great blog with all sorts of deals listed.  Coupon sale shopping is a great game!

I cooked a turkey today. 

I mopped my floors today and did two loads of laundry.

We also did our last level 2 of the 30 day shred.  We decided we are bored and it is getting too easy, so here we come, level 3.  I am pretty proud of us – I don’t do anything and stick to it for 30 days.  Although this is based off 30 days, Bill and I decided to make it our 90 day shred.  Don’t tell anyone we were that out of shape.

Now I think the sweat is dried on good enough so I can just go to bed instead of showering.  I am too dang tired for a shower.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missi
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 22:27:29

    Thanks for the coupon- I eat the “fake” stuff every morning!

    Reply

  2. debpieper
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 22:28:19

    Print two!! 🙂 Two per computer…so if you are nutso, like me, you can get like 6 or more!!

    Reply

  3. Larisa
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 22:44:05

    At least by the end of January at the latest you won’t have Bill and Andy running off to Cub Scout meetings….our boys will be big Boy Scouts then! Plus a good portion of our Weblos II have almost all the requirements met so we’ll have some fun time this year!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

