Searching for a hobby

I just have too much free time, like while sitting in my van in various places around town waiting for a kid, 3 AM, and while sitting at the orthodontist (and I am expecting more of that time as I get another kid started…and then another…and then another.)  I decided that I need a relaxing hobby, something I can do to unwind and relax in the midst of our crazy schedule.   I did a little internet search and came up with some great ideas:

Aircraft Spotting – the observation and logging of the registration numbers of aircraft

Sure, that really shouldn’t be too hard here.  A couple times a day, a United flight flies over on its way from Denver,  maybe once a year we notice microlights in the distance, and depending on the hatch every so often our town aerial sprays for mosquitos.  Just this week, we did notice the Canadian Geese flying south…I logged them all in my records.  Whoa – that was a fun hobby.  Done , check, move on. 

Macramé – a form of textile-making using knotting

I already do the anti-this every day.  I get knots out of my necklaces, my back muscles, shoelaces of all the little kiddos at school, and Alli’s beautiful long hair.  Why would I want to produce more knots?  And besides, I don’t see weird fuzzy owl wall hanging popping up on anyone’s Christmas list.  Just for some of you who lived through the era, here is a little gem of a website for you.  WHY???  The mission statement made on the homepage says a lot about those who collect these things :

“This organisation is dedicated to saving, rehabilitating and reviving the macramé owl.”

Macaw macramé owlSomeone got a little crazy and went Macaw!  

 

Cosplay – short for “costume play”, is a type of performance art in which participants don costumes and accessories to represent a specific character or idea.

WHOA – be careful if you Bing this one.  However, doesn’t this hobby have it’s own holiday??  I guess this is a possible idea. 

I can see use for this at family gatherings

Where could Bill and I go on our next date dressed like this?

This is perfect for church:

 

Yeah, ya know this might be the hobby for me!

Tesla Coils

Yeah, just watch the video.  It seems like a very safe option for a household full of children, one of them being Pyro Andy.

Spelunkering – to explore caves, esp. as a hobby

Ok, this is the winner.  What I am thinking is that the city will open a couple drains and manholes for the club I am going to start.  We can lower ourselves into those “caves” and figure out why we cant get our drainage to work in this town – Lake Pieper needs to be fixed.

I guess I will have to settle on typical mom stuff:  filing my nails, cleaning my purse, flossing my teeth, and juggling.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larisa
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 22:08:37

    I love your blog Deb…it’s my “therapy” after the boys are in bed. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Springtime means… « Our Piep Show

Leave a Reply

