Another day in paradise

So I have my fridge and freezer back.  Sad thing to pay a repair person $311 to replace a mother board.  Mother board in a fridge, are you kidding me??  Bill could have had that thing running for the low cost of $110.  You will learn that Bill is Mr. Fix-it, so this incident, I am sure, has him a bit miffed.  Mother boards are child’s play for Bill.  Check out this high tech fridge part:

20100906_101623_4569

Continuing with yesterday’s theme of cooking healthy stuff, I made two new things today:  garlic hummus and homemade pitas.  The hummus frustrated me because my blender (kitchen aide and everything!) didn’t mash it all up well and I spent a good 15 minutes with a rubber spatula trying to set a good example of patience for my children.  The recipe simply calls for me to drizzle olive oil into the blender – like how much?  A girl like me needs to know if we are drizzling a cup or a tablespoon.   After all that time, I found that this hummus eaten by itself is a big YUCK fest.  If someone can tell me how to make this stuff smooth and the perfect consistency, that would be great!!

Then I had one of those best moments of the day”  when kneading the pita dough.  (Stop here if you know me well and try to guess before continuing.)  It was just a short 2.5 years ago that Andy would cuddle with me, suck his thumb and knead my belly rolls like it was some sort of therapy putty.  Isn’t that the perfect picture of mommy hood? Perhaps it was similar to a stress ball for him, a fidget, one of those excellent OT toys.  Maybe he will have irreversible damage now because I got rid of his fine motor skills development tools or stress reliever.  Well, Andy actually came into the kitchen while I was kneading and asked what in the world I was doing and told me it looked like human parts.   I am so glad we have exposed our children to so many educational experiences.  Ahhhhh, kids are a treasure. 

20100906_181437_4577

This body has been through it all – 5’2” girls are not made to carry 12 lbs of baby plus 3 of all the stuff each baby needs.   Will I ever post pictures of that?  I doubt it.  They even make me puke a little in my mouth.  As for the pitas.  They were successful!!

Another fun moment of the day was running through the rain to first get from the driveway to the house and then ***SHOCKER** the kids left the back garage door up so back out I went to shut that.  This is what I looked like when it was all said and done:

20100906_171403_4575

It aint a pretty life, but it’s mine and I love it.

Leave a Reply

